Lahore Qalandars lift maiden PSL 2022 Trophy

Lahore Qalandars lift maiden PSL 2022 Trophy

Shaheen Shah Afridi-led Lahore Qalandars defeated defending champions Multan Sultans in the final of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season seven by 42 runs to lift their maiden PSL trophy on Sunday.

Lahore Qalandars Become Champions Of Psl 2022

Chasing a sizeable total of 181 runs, Mohammad Rizwan-led Sultans were wrapped up for 138.

Earlier, Lahore Qalandars skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi’s decision to bat first was questioned by Multan Sultans bowlers as they took the first three wickets in the powerplay with just 25 runs on the board.

Mohammad Hafeez’s crucial fifty (69 off 46), Harry Brooks (41 off 22), and David Wiese’s small cameo of 28 runs from 8 balls took Lahore to a competitive total of 180/5.

In response, Mohammad Rizwan (14 off 12) and Shan Masood (19 off 15) provide a quick start to Multan Sultans. However, they lost the plot after both openers departed back-to-back.

The next two wickets also fell quickly, leaving Rilee Rossouw (15 off 22) and Tim David (27 off 17) to slow down in order to rebuild the innings.

The pressure of mounting run-rate forced Multan batters to throw their wickets in search of big shots, and they were bundled out for 138 in the 20th over, handing Lahore Qalandars a 42-run win an the PSL 7 trophy.

Past PSL Winners

So far Islamabad is the only team to have won two PSL trophies, first in 2016 and then again in 2018. Besides, Peshawar Zalmi (2017), Quetta Gladiators (2019), Karachi Kings (2020), and Multan Sultans (2021) have each won the tournament once. Lahore Qalandars is the only PSL side without a trophy. They will fancy chances to win their maiden PSL title tonight.

Highlights of PSL 2022

  • Karachi Kings losing streak

Pakistan’s all-format captain Babar Azam-led Karachi Kings created the most unwanted record in this year’s PSL as they lost nine out of ten games they were involved in this season.

Previously, former Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed-led Quetta Gladiators had the longest losing streak of eight matches in a single edition. Gladiators achieved this unlikeable feat in the 2021 edition of the PSL.

  • Multan Sultans winning record

On the contrary, Multan Sultans enjoyed a great campaign in the 7th edition of PSL and finished as table-toppers with nine wins from ten matches. Islamabad United held the previous record of most wins in a single edition of PSL when they won eight out of ten matches in the league stages of last season.

Fakhar Zaman’s fine form

The Lahore Qalandars opener Fakhar Zaman had a brilliant run in the tournament as he broke Babar Azam’s record for most runs in a single edition of PSL.

In 13 outings this season, Fakhar piled up 588 runs on the back of one century and seven fifties. He surpassed Babar Azam’s record of 554 runs, which he made during the PSL 2021.

Note here that Multan Sultans captain Mohammad Rizwan currently ranks third in the list with 532 runs in 13 games. He is the only batter to have scored over 500 runs in two consecutive seasons.

Fastest hundred (48 balls)

Lahore’s Harry Brook hit the record-breaking hundred this season. Brook’s 48-ball hundred against Islamabad United in a league match was the fastest hundred of the season and second-quickest in PSL history.

Multan Sultans’ top-order batter Rilee Rossouw still holds the record of the fastest PSL century on just 43 balls. He achieved this feat in PSL 2020 against Quetta Gladiators.

Most wickets in PSL 7

Please must comment if you like this good news.

Avatar Of Psl 2022

PSL 2022

PSL 2022

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.