PSL 2022: Azam’s 85-run knock goes in vain as Peshawar beats Islamabad

PSL 2022: Azam’s 85-run knock goes in vain as Peshawar beats Islamabad

Lahore: Azam Khan’s 85-run knock went in vain Thursday as Peshawar Zalmi triumphed over Islamabad United by 10 runs in match 24 of the Pakistan Super League’s (PSL) seventh edition.

Psl 2022: Azam'S 85-Run Knock Goes In Vain As Peshawar Beats Islamabad

United, who were without a full-strength team as their skipper Shadab Khan and Zeeshan Zameer are out due to an injury, were put into the field by Zalmi captain Wahab Riaz.

Chasing a massive 207-run target, the United started with a flourishing parallel to their opposition but ended their innings at 196 for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs. 

Rahmatullah Gurbaz gave his team a much-needed start as he smashed 46 runs off 19 balls with the help of three fours and five sixes. The openers provided a 54-run opening stand.

Earlier, the Zalmi put up the massive score, courtesy of Mohammad Haris’ 70-run knock.

Haris and Hazratullah Zazai opened the innings for Zalmi. One would expect Zazai to go rampant as he is an experienced batter, having played at the international level, but he didn’t play a huge knock, having been removed after scoring 13 runs.

Both the openers gave Zalmi a 73-run start, while Haris continued to carve quick runs, as Waqas Maqsood finally dismissed him in the 9.3 overs.

Yasir Khan also started hitting boundaries as he scored 35 runs off 24 balls with two sixes and three fours as Zahir Khan removed him.

Shoaib Malik also continued his brilliant form as he notched 38 runs in 23 balls with two sixes and was removed by Faheem in the 17.2 overs.

The United bowlers in the late overs did very well as they bowled dot balls and stopped the Zalmi batters from hitting the boundaries.

Waqas was good as he gave away 34 runs and also picked two wickets in four overs; Musa went for 33 runs in two overs, while Faheem was also brilliant as he picked three wickets for 33 runs in four overs.

Playing XI

Peshawar Zalmi: Hazratullah Zazai, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Haris (wk), Shoaib Malik, Hussain Talat, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz (c), Salman Irshad, Liam Livingstone, Usman Qadir, Yasir Khan

Islamabad United: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Mubasir Khan, Danish Aziz, Liam Dawson, Asif Ali (c), Azam Khan (wk), Faheem Ashraf, Waqas Maqsood, Muhammad Musa, Marchant de Lange, Zahir Khan.

Avatar Of Psl 2022

PSL 2022

PSL 2022

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.